Feedback / Suggestions

Transport Secretariat

Under the Ministry of Transport, the Department of Transport and four state transport corporations such as Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation, Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation, North West Karnataka Road Transport Corporation, Northeast Karnataka Road Transport Corporation and D. Devaraja Urus Truck Terminals Ltd. agency operates.


Transport Department  :


The Department of Transport is empowered to regulate the procurement, road safety, traffic control functions of the following Motor Vehicles Act and regulations.

  1. Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (Central Act 59 of 1988)
  2. Central Motor Vehicles Regulations, 1989
  3. Karnataka Motor Vehicle Regulations, 1989
  4. Karnataka Motor Vehicle Tax Act, 1957 (Karnataka Act, 1957, 35)
  5. Karnataka Motor Vehicle Tax Regulations, 1957.


Transportation agencies :


State Road Transport Corporations, operated by the Road Transport Corporations Act, 1950, have emerged as the premier transportation companies in the country. One of the main objectives and benefits of transport corporations is to provide good and quality transport to the public in the state. The main function is to provide the bus station, bus unit and other infrastructure to facilitate better connectivity and maintenance.

Concessionary / Free Bus Passes are distributed to students under Social Responsibility and free / discounted bus passes for the blind and disabled, freedom fighters, Martyrs dependents, Goa campaigners and Endosulfan victims. 25% discount on senior citizens' travel rates. From the administrative point of view. The state transport corporations are divided into the following four transport entities.


1.    Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation :

Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation (KSRTC) is the foremost transport corporation in the state, consisting of Bangalore Rural and Urban, Ramanagara, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Kodagu, Mangalore, Hassan, Udupi, Chikkamagaluru, Shivamogga, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Tumkur, Chikkaballapur and Kolar have jurisdiction over a total of 17 districts.


2.    Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation :

The Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation is about 25 km from Bangalore city and the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP). Responsible for providing transportation to areas within the jurisdiction.


3.    North West Karnataka Road Transport Corporation :

The North West Karnataka Road Transport Corporation has jurisdiction over Dharwad, Belgaum, Gadag Haveri, Bagalkot and Uttara Kannada districts, including the Hubli Center.


4.    Northeast Karnataka Road Transport Corporation :

The Northeast Karnataka Road Transport Corporation has jurisdiction over the districts of Bidar, Vijayapura, Bellary, Raichur, Koppal and Yadagiri, including the Kalaburagi Center.


5.    D. Devaraj Aras Truck Terminal Limited :

A separate parking and freight system for trucking operators on the outskirts of the state's cities is intended to provide lodging and trucking agents for trucking personnel to reduce traffic congestion in cities, prevent accidents and damage to roads and air pollution.

Last Updated: 11-08-2020 11:35 AM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080